Custard on fashion!

Now I’ll be the first to admit I am not a fashionista, I favour a sensible shoe and an M&S stretch jean. I get a bit bored and confused with Vogue. If you are looking for a fashion blog take a look at @NARxo or @WightCatwalk. If you are looking for someone who is most comfortable in her Pjs and the Gap sweatshirt she’s had since 1999 to tell it straight, then read on.

As I said, I am not the height of fashion, I’m not tall or short, fat or thin, I’m somewhere in the middle. I have bits I don’t like, which I cover up, and bits that I do, so I show em off! I am guilty of sticking to a few styles that work for me and can be generally found styling up or down a pair of jeans! But I think as a general rule I usually look ok. I mean sure we’ve all had a few dodgy outfits…I have a few fashion rules I like to stick too.

1. Spandex, a privilege not a right.
I wear stretchy stuff in the gym, and I couldn’t get through that post Christmas period without it, but if it wobbles cover it and if you can see through it don’t wear it outside. I recall a time a girl walked past our house, her leggings were so see through you could see her leopard print knickers underneath, when I pointed it out she was mortified!!

2. Find a good hairdresser, I mean a really good one that you trust. A recent survey showed that a woman will spend more years with her hairdresser than her husband!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-24123046
They will find colour and cut to suit you and advise you how too look after it well.
When you have found a good hairdresser then try really hard not to knacker your hair, give it a regular rest from harsh styling and it will look great for years.

3. If you are a fat girl (and I was) wearing a silly hat will not make you look thinner, it will however, make you look stupid. I refer mainly to fat Goth girls in top hats (thanks @staticseven) but also this recent trend of a return to 80’s fashions. A fez is ok, if you are drunk or Dr Who!

4. Final Rule and the most important one, for goodness sake, wear undies that fit you! No – one needs to see back boobs on show cos your bra’s too small. 4 boobs cos you are trying to squeeze in a cup size too small – a side comment here, squeezing your ample bust into too small a cup will not give you better cleavage, a correctly fitting bra will. If you are not a size 10 do not squeeze into size 10 knickers, you’ll end up with lumps and bumps in all the wrong places. Even bigger girls can look great in a tight fitting frock just make sure you get your basics right.

So there it is my rules on fashion, feel free to ignore the lot. What do I know? I used to work in BHS!

Leave a Reply

